Top Photographers on Twitter

3677561095_a92cc01d1a.jpg

I am really enjoying working with the Nikon D90, and just purchased my third non-stock lens, a Sigma 10-20 mm wide angle. As I step up my photo game (follow me on Flickr or on Twitter), I decided to follow more photographers on Twitter, and put out a general crowdsourcing call for image masters.

3661608488_d7f8abb173.jpg

Here’s who was suggested (sans a few people who really don’t seem to be on Twitter), amateurs and pros alike in alphabetical order by Twitter handle. I also added @hyku and @noreaster, two amateur photographers I greatly admire.

  • Amy Venderford – @amiev – “roaming photographer”
  • Amy Montgomery – @amymontgomery – “Photographer. Designer. Mother. Dreamer. Lover of this life and the pictures that keep it fresh.”
  • Chase Jarvis – @chasejarvis – “Maniac Photography Director”
  • Chris Sembrot- @csembrot – “Advertising and editorial photographer from Philadelphia.”
  • Danny Garcia – @danmiami – “computer forensics lab supervisor;cell phone forensics trainer;amateur poker player and photographer; travel”
  • Eric Doggett – @ericdoggett – “Energized portraiture.”
  • Gloria Bell – @gloriabell – “People Connector, Social Media Enthusiast, Life Lover, Friend, Hugger, Organizer, Thoughts/Musings at http://asseenthroughmyeyes.wordpress”
  • Henie Resinger – @HennArtOnline – “Writer, Photographer, Artist, Passionista, Social Media Participant, Cerebral Provacateur”
  • Holly McCraig – @hollymccraig – “i’m a liberal, dog-loving professional wedding & portrait photog. yo.”,/li>
  • Josh Hallett – @hyku – “Director, Voce Connect – Doing the social media thing since 2003.”
  • HughE – @iPhillyChitChat – “Paralegal by Day, Paparazzi by Night”
  • itsDarkDaze – itsDarkDaze – “There is only you and your camera.”
  • Jenae – @jenaew – “friend. lover, mother, artist, new yorker, midwesterner”
  • Jennifer Jasso – @jenjasso – “L.A. based photographer”
  • Jeremy Cowart – @jeremycowart – Photographer to the Stars, the Suffering and Everyone in Between.
  • Jim MacMillan – @jimmacmillan – “Pulitzer-winning visual journalist, university educator and new media consultant based in Philadelphia.”
  • Justin A. Schuck – @justinschuck – “photographer, writer, designer, blogger, political consultant, SWM, yer mom”
  • Kristin Farwell – @kfarwell – “Marketing Program Manager at Bulldog Solutions / Photographer at Karmalized.com / Geek at Heart”
  • kgustafson – @kgustafson – “Photographer/blogger/professional commuter”
  • Kris Krug – @kk – “techartist, quasi-sage, cyberpunk anti-hero from the future”
  • Lyndon Wade – @lyndonwade – “Lyndon Wade photography”
  • Mickey Gomez – @mickeygomez – “Reader, writer, guitar player, fan of nonprofits, Whedon, social media and dogs. Believes everyone can make a difference!”
  • Mike Birce – @mikebrice – “Toledo Photographer.”
  • Milli G. Funk – @millifunk – “Exploring small town MO after life in NYC.”
  • Jen Consalvo – @noreaster – “all about the internet, building cool apps and leading great teams. photo buff. chronic case of wanderlust.”
  • Raquita – @raquita – “Photographer, Mom, you want to work with me now before the world finds out I’m awesome”
  • Scott Bourne – @scottbourne – “Host – Photofocus Podcast, Publisher Photofocus.com, President Bourne Media Group – photographer, author, teacher, speaker, new media pioneer”
  • Scott White – @SDWhite – “Christian, husband, dad, police officer, IT type, admin weenie, conservative, Patriot Guard Rider, wanna be social media guru, photographer”
  • Shaminder Dulai – @Shawagg – “Photojournalist, multimedia producer, trying to find the answers”
  • Shawn Duffy – @shawnduffy -“Freelance photographer and photojournalist”
  • Steph Brooks – @takinpitchas – “Old school news photog… turned Marketing Exec. Diving into SoMed Marketing and makin’ a splash! Faves include: Coffee, my LolaPup, learning something new.”
  • J. Pollack Photography – @stlphoto – “STL-based wedding, family, commercial, and editorial photographer”
  • Todd Adamson – @toddadamson – “gggggggggggggg”
  • Todd Jordan – @tojosan – “Live/Record/Share, Coder/Analyst/Soc Med Pusher/Photographer/Blogger”

3560404429_33b2121318.jpg

Pretty cool stuff. Now, I just need to put them in their own Tweetdeck group! Photo District News has also published this post featuring the five biggest photographers on the Internet (h/t @jimmacmillan).

19 Replies to “Top Photographers on Twitter”

  1. Looking forward to checking these out! I didn’t realize you were highlighting amateurs as well, or I suppose I would have directed you to my work! (And maybe since I’ve been selected for a juried exhibition I should stop thinking of myself as a complete amateur!).

    But I digress …

    I have a few photo galleries on the Portfolio section of my Web site; I photograph mostly flowers/nature and some live music. Here’s the direct URL for my Portfolio page (photo galleries are at the bottom):

    http://www.lindsaymallen.com/career.html

    -– Lindsay ( http://twitter.com/LindsayMAllen )

  2. I would also add that @davidalston is a damn good amateur as is @briansolis. @technosailor, @shashib, and @jjgardner3 are also great amateurs in the DC area.

  3. One pro who is, unfortunately, not yet on Twitter is Ryan Wood, photo editor at The Midland (Mich.) Daily News; he’s been the Michigan Press Photographers Association Photo Editor of the Year for three years running. I definitely recommend that folks check out Wood Frames, his photo blog. (Disclosure: Ryan was one of my fellow editors at our college newspaper in the 1990s and, to this day, remains a friend and valued media contact).

    Wood Frames:
    http://wood-ryan.blogspot.com/

    Ryan’s winning editing portfolio for 2008-09:
    http://mppa.org/poy/376/2008-picture-editor-of-the-year-first

  4. Thanks for including me on this list, Geoff! And thank you for taking the time to put this together! I am looking forward to clicking thru to see what people are shooting. So inspiring!

  5. RE Lisa – I think this was a list of real photographers – not models who pretend to be photographers

  6. Pingback: AinaL (AinaL)

Comments are closed.